There are seven sacraments in the Church: Baptism, Confession, Eucharist, Confirmation, Matrimony, Holy Orders, and the Anointing of the Sick. The purpose of the sacraments is to make us holy.  They strengthen our faith and give us the grace to practice good works. and grant forgiveness, as Jesus does.  Through the sacraments, God teaches us how He wants us to be.